Basic information about Canada

Print Bookmark

Canada is the second largest country in the World located in North America. It has ten provinces and three territories. There are six time zones in Canada. Ottawa is the capital city which is located in the province on Ontario. Canada is neighboring with USA and share the largest land border in the World. The population of Canada is 34 million which is mostly contributed by foreigners settled in Canada. Canada has a diverse makeup of nationalities and cultures, and has constitutional protection for policies that promote multiculturalism.  Canada has high slandered of living and it has been ranked at no 4 in the World. Vancouver, Toronto, Calgary, Montreal and Edmonton are the main cities.

The main languages are English and French and these are official languages at Federal level making it a bilingual nation most native French speakers in Canada live in the province of Quebec and interpretation may be required for business meetings. With a very high per-capita income, excellent infrastructure and living standers Canada is one of the world's most highly developed countries. It is a member of the G7, G8, G20, NATO, OECD, WTO, Commonwealth of Nations, Francophonie, OAS, APEC, and UN. Canada is a federal state that is governed as a parliamentary democracy.

Many people believe that Canada’s climate is same and cold throughout the year but this is not the case. In winter temperature falls below freezing point in most parts of the country. South-western coast has a relatively mild climate. Along the Arctic Circle, mean temperatures are below freezing for seven months a year. In summer southern provinces have high level of humidity in air and temperature surpasses 30 degrees Celsius regularly similarly Western and south eastern Canada have high rainfall but the Prairies are dry experience just 250 mm to 500 mm of rain every year. 

Note: You must sign in to rate this message.